Tina VanSteenbergen ’09

I was involved with the Master Planning Committee and the University Center Task Force (UCTF) as a part of my job responsibilities as President of HUSC (Hamline Undergraduate Student Congress). I was in no way expecting either of those roles to be ones I would come to be invested in, as I largely expected that the work of either committee would be over my head, and of the logistical nature. However, I very quickly found quite the opposite to be true.

Working with the UCTF was one of the most rewarding experiences I had as student body president. Engaging with dedicated faculty, staff, and administration in conversations about the needs of the Hamline community yielded what I believe is a plan for a University Center that we can be proud of. Prospective students, current students, faculty and staff, and alumni can all be proud to be a part of a community that is building a University Center that truly speaks to the character, innovation, and pride of Hamline. While it may be difficult to see the necessity of this building at this point, especially for those not involved in the committee work from the beginning, I do believe that each and every member of the Hamline Community will see the benefits when we have one common space on this campus that we may each call “home.”

